Learning to Avoid Burnout

As a teacher, the words “stressed” and “tired” have taken on a whole new meaning for me. As the school year winds down, I am forced to acknowledge my lack of rest and self-care and the impact that is having on my life and that of my husband. I am investing substantially into important areas of my life and often times, without knowing it, I place myself and my marriage on the back burner.

So, I decided, what better topic to cover than one I am wrestling with learning myself – rest.

Two weeks ago, our worship and A/V (audio/visual) teams met to share a meal and fellowship with one another. We discussed ways to improve our ‘craft’ as we continue to serve. One of the meaningful things shared during that time was a quote by Rick Warren: “To avoid burnout: Divert Daily – Do whatever whatever relaxes you. Withdraw Weekly – Participate in a Sabbath.  Abandon Annually- choose to disconnect completely.”

This concept points me to Psalm 127:2 “ If God doesn’t build the house, the builders only build shacks. If God doesn’t guard the city, the night watchman might as well nap.
It’s useless to rise early and go to bed late, and work your worried fingers to the bone.
Don’t you know he enjoys giving rest to those he loves?” (The Message) 


As believers, we need to find rest in the rhythm of life. Often times, at least in my personal experiences, I become so overwhelmed with everything on my to-do-list or proverbial plate that I ignore the Father’s gift of rest. This natural tendency to go, go, go leads us to a place where we are burnt out and exhausted with nothing else to give.

So, to avoid burnout I am realizing the need for intentional rest. Reflecting on Rick Warren’s quote, I ask myself, do I divert daily, withdraw weekly, or abandon annual? What do these things look like in my life, if I am already implementing them.

If they are not present, how would I like to see them fulfilled? As I process this concept, I’ve jotted down on a few ideas that have come to my mind.

Divert Daily ::

  • Bubble bath
  • Reading my favorite book
  • Going for a run
  • Journaling

Withdraw Weekly :: 

  • Participating in a local Church body
  •  Going to bed early one or two nights
  • Turning off all electronic devices for an evening

Abandon Annually :: 

  • Taking a vacation
  • Reflecting on goals and dreams

Though I feel like I understand the concept of rest, I – in all honesty – do not apply it well. Joseph and I do a good job of abandoning annually and disconnecting or leaving technology, work, and responsibility for a while. I do not however, do a good job of resting daily. Therefore, whenever we ‘vacation’ I find myself working so hard to relax, de-stress, and rest – which completely defeats the purpose.

So, my challenge for myself these next few weeks (the remainder of the school year) and into the summer, is to better learn how to rest. As I attempt to navigate the balance of life’s rhythm, I would appreciate your prayers.

Please feel free to share with me ways that you perform self-care or “rest” on a daily or weekly basis. I need any advice you may have!

One thought on “Learning to Avoid Burnout

  1. Thanks for sharing Cora! May God give you a daily rhythm of rest. We will plan to enter our next “trip season” with more restful hearts. I think a 4-6 hour “mini-retreat” before an annual vacation might make the whole thing easier to rest and relax.

    Brandon and Elsie

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment